Tusher Initiative for the Management of
Intellectual Capital

Advisory Board

Please click here for information about Tusher Initiative founder and faculty director David Teece.

Ross LevineAdvisory Board Chair
Ross Levine
Professor, Haas Economic Analysis and Policy Group, UC-Berkeley
Ross Levine is the Willis H. Booth Chair in Banking and Finance at the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley. He is also a Senior Fellow at the Milken Institute, Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. After teaching at the University of Virginia, Professor Levine became the Curtis Carlson Professor of Finance at the University of Minnesota, where he worked from 1999 until 2005. From 2005 through 2012, he worked at Brown University, where he was the James and Merryl Tisch Professor of Economics and Director of the William R. Rhodes Center for International Economics and Finance.

Professor Levine’s work focuses on the linkages between financial sector policies, the operation of financial systems, and the functioning of the economy. Ross Levine completed his undergraduate studies at Cornell University in 1982 and received his Ph.D. in economics from UCLA in 1987. He worked at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System until 1990, when he moved to the World Bank. At the Bank, he managed and conducted research and operational programs.

Lee FlemingLee Fleming
Professor, Industrial Engineering & Operations Research, UC-Berkeley
Faculty Director, Coleman Fung Institute of Engineering Leadership

Professor Lee Fleming joined the IEOR Department at UC Berkeley in Fall 2011 and is the Faculty Director of the Coleman Fung Institute of Engineering Leadership. He teaches the engineering leadership and capstone courses within the Masters of Engineering curriculum. His research investigates how managers can increase their organization’s chances of inventing a breakthrough through types of collaboration, the integration of scientific and empirical search strategies, and the recombination of diverse technologies. His recent work has disambiguated the U.S. patent record and demonstrated that noncompete agreements create a brain-drain from states that enforce noncompetes to states that do not. He is currently using big data techniques to study innovation, entrepreneurship, knowledge flow and science policy.

Dr. Fleming earned his bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering at UC Davis. Dr. Fleming went on to earn a Masters in Engineering Management from Stanford University in the Honors Cooperative Program. He then received his Ph.D. in Organizational Behavior in the Department of Industrial Engineering at Stanford. He also completed a Masters in Statistics during his doctoral years. Between 1998 and 2011, he was a professor at the Harvard Business School, most recently as the Albert J. Weatherhead III Professor of Business Administration.

David KapposDavid Kappos
Partner, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP
Former Under Secretary of Commerce and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office

David J. Kappos is a partner at Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP. He is widely recognized as one of the world’s foremost leaders in the field of intellectual property, including intellectual property management and strategy, the development of global intellectual property norms, laws and practices as well as commercialization and enforcement of innovation‑based assets. From August 2009 to January 2013, Mr. Kappos served as Under Secretary of Commerce and Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). In that role, he advised the President, Secretary of Commerce and the Administration on intellectual property policy matters. As Director of the USPTO, he led the Agency in dramatically reengineering its entire management and operational systems as well as its engagement with the global innovation community. He was instrumental in achieving the greatest legislative reform of the U.S. patent system in generations through passage and implementation of the Leahy‑Smith America Invents Act, signed into law by the President in September 2011.

Mr. Kappos has been recognized with the 2013 Board of Director’s Excellence Award from the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA), the 2013 Champion of Intellectual Property Award from the District of Columbia Bar Association and the 2013 North America Government Leadership Award from Semiconductor Equipment and Materials International (SEMI). He was named one of the 50 Most Influential People in Intellectual Property by Managing IP, one of the 100 Most Influential Lawyers in America by The National Law Journal and Intellectual Property Professional of the Year by the Intellectual Property Owners Association.

Carl SchrammCarl Schramm
University Professor, Syracuse University
Former President, Kauffman Foundation

Carl J. Schramm was appointed University Professor at Syracuse University in Summer 2012. From 2002 to 2011 he was president of the Kauffman Foundation where under his leadership it became the world’s premier organization dedicated to encouraging entrepreneurship and understanding the role innovation and new firm formation play in economic growth. In 2012 he was a visiting scientist at MIT. In the spring semesters 2013 and 2014 he was the Ciocca Family visiting professor at U.C. Davis. He is a fellow at the Institute of Business Innovation at U.C. Berkeley and a director at the Berkeley Research Group. His career started at Johns Hopkins where he founded the nation’s first research center on health care costs. He has founded or co-founded seven companies, including HCIA and Greenspring Advisors, a merchant bank. He has also served in major corporate roles including EVP of Fortis (now Assurant) where he was CEO of Fortis Healthcare. He has authored, co-authored, or edited several books including Better Capitalism; Good Capitalism/Bad Capitalism; Inside Real Innovation; The Entrepreneurial Imperative, and, Controlling Healthcare Costs.

His research work focuses on entrepreneurship, innovation and economic growth. He serves on the Scientific Advisory Board for Mars, Inc., and the Advisory Board of the John A. Templeton Foundation. He has served as a trustee of the Milbank Memorial Fund and the Kauffman Foundation. He earned his Ph.D. in economics from Wisconsin where he was a Ford Foundation Doctoral Fellow and a New York State Regents Graduate Fellow. He holds a J.D. from Georgetown. While at Hopkins he was a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellow at the National Academy of Science, Institute of Medicine. He also held two consecutive NIH Career Scientist Awards. He holds the George Eastman Medal from the University of Rochester and five honorary degrees including a Doctor of Humane Letters from Syracuse. He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, and a fellow of the New York Academy of Medicine.